Friday, May 7, 2010

NCR-SARE Elects New Administrative Council Representatives

Heather Duncan, Jim Goodman, Mark Kuzila, and Steve Wegulo have been elected to serve as Administrative Council (AC) members for the NCR-SARE this past year.

Heather Duncan will be serving the NCR-SARE Administrative Council as a co-chair of the Technical Committee and the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) representative. Duncan is an Environmental Scientist for the EPA Pesticides Program, Region 7 where she assists in implementation and enforcement of the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide and Rodenticide Act in Iowa, Nebraska, Kansas, and Missouri, serves as the regional contact for drift issues, integrated pest management, and competitive grants, and promotes pesticide stewardship in agricultural and community settings.

Co-owner /operator of a 500-acre certified organic dairy, beef, and crop farm, Jim Goodman has been elected to serve as the Wisconsin farmer rancher representative to the NCR-SARE Administrative Council. Among other activities, Goodman serves on the Board of Directors for Family Farm Defenders, is Director of the Vernon Electric Cooperative, and serves as a member of the USDA Dairy Industry Advisory Committee. He was named a WK Kellogg Foundation/Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy Food and Society Policy Fellow for 2008-2009.

Mark Kuzila has been elected to serve as the Geological Survey representative to the NCR-SARE Administrative Council. Kuzila is the Director of the Nebraska Geological Survey and is a member of the North Central Education/Extension Research Activity-3 Soil and Landscape Assessment, Function, and Interpretation Committee. Among other activities, Kuzila has served as the Principle Soil Scientist and Director of the School of Natural Resources at the University Nebraska-Lincoln.

Assistant Professor/Extension Plant Pathologist from the University of Nebraska, Steve Wegulo has been elected to serve as the Nebraska research representative to the NCR-SARE Administrative Council. Wegulo has a scientific perspective on plant diseases in small grains, forages, and ornamental crops. He is a member of the American Phytopathological Society and has served on the Diseases of Ornamental Plants Committee. In 2009, he won an Outstanding Extension Publication Award, American Society for Horticultural Science.

NCR-SARE would like to extend gratitude to the following AC members who either fulfilled their terms or are stepping down: Illinois farmer rancher representative Dave Campbell, Nebraska Extension representative Karen DeBoer, national Extension representative Jerry DeWitt, foundation/nonprofit representative Tim Kautza, Geological Survey representative Fred Madison, Wisconsin research representative Bill Tracy, and Environmental Protection Agency representative Barbara Van Til.

NCR-SARE’s Administrative Council represents various agricultural sectors, states and organizations. It sets program priorities and makes granting decisions for the region. A collection of farm and non-farm residents, the Administrative Council includes a diverse mix of agricultural stakeholders in our 12 states. Council members hail from regional farms and ranches, the Cooperative Extension Service, universities, and nonprofits. In addition, regional representatives of the U.S. Geological Survey, the U.S. Department of Agriculture, the Environmental Protection Agency, the Natural Resources Conservation Service, and NCR agribusinesses, state agencies, and foundations sit at the table.

Since 1988, NCR-SARE has helped advance farming systems that are profitable, environmentally sound and good for communities through a nationwide research and education grants program. The program, part of USDA's National Institute for Food and Agriculture, funds projects and conducts outreach designed to improve agricultural systems.

No comments: